Bad Wildungen - Print version


Timeline from the year 800 to our days

Approx. 800

‘Villa Wildungun’ is first documented in Hersfeld Monastery’s goods directory.  The village was located to the east of the town in the Wilde valley.

Approx. 1200

Count Friedrich, a descendant of the Thuringian landgraves, orders the construction of fortified dwellings high above the Wilde valley. This was the precursor for the castle and Alt (from the Latin altus), or ‘Upper’ Wildungen, which would later come under the control of the Count of Waldeck.

1242

Is reported to be the year in which the town of Nieder-Wildungen, or ‘Lower Wildungen,’ was founded by the Thuringian-Hessian landgrave on the hill facing the fortified dwellings.

1258

First mention of a church.

1259

First mention of a town hall.

1260

First mention of a cemetery in Wildungen.

1263

The town comes under the control of the Count of Waldeck and becomes a prosperous community.

Approx. 1330

Construction of today’s church begins. It takes until 1489 to complete the steeple.

Post 1330

‘Lower’ and ‘Upper’ Wildungen are separated. The ‘two towns of Wildungen’ are first mentioned in 1358.

1349

A severe plague epidemic devastates Lower Wildungen.

1358 - 1360

The ‘Hospital’ is founded between the two towns.

1372

Count Heinrich V. hands control of the Hospital to the Knights Hospitallers of Wisenfeld.

1378

Hermann Smenkys (Schminke) channels water from the "Sauerbrunnen" mineral springs into the town.

1403

The altar of Conrad of Soest is put into place in the church.

Post 1400

The first craft guilds are formed.

1430-1440

Construction of the town hall in Lower Wildungen.

1495

Kaiser Maximilian grants Count Philipp of Waldeck possession of the Sauerbrunnen mineral springs.

1529-1532

Count Philipp IV. and Johannes Hefenträger establish the Reformation in Wildungen. 

1532

First witch trial in Lower Wildungen.

1542

More than 400 people die as a result of a plague epidemic. A cemetery is constructed by the Reitzenhagener Tor, known later as Lindentor. 

1552 - 1554,
1563 - 1567

Plague epidemics.

1563

Construction of the Weinschänke, or ‘wine tavern,’ next to the town hall.  

1575 - 1578

Veit Weinberg composes his rhyme chronicle of the town of Wildungen. Further witch trials in Wildungen.

1579

Erection of a monument in the church in memory of Count Samuel.

1587 - 1624

Comital mint in Lower Wildungen.

From 1624

Wildungen influenced by the Thirty Years’ War. Imperial, Hessian, Swedish and French forces are billeted in the town.

1635-1637

Pillaging and destruction occur in the town.

1640

Swedish troops under the command of General Baner dig in near Wildungen. They are faced by Imperial troops based near the town of Fritzlar. The confrontation lasts for six weeks, leaving ravaged towns and villages in its wake.

1650-1664

Final witch trials in Lower Wildungen.

From 1660

Count Josias orders the construction of the castle in Upper Wildungen to begin. In 1647, a monument is erected in the church in memory of the count who was killed in action in Crete.

1696

The Salzborn springs (known today as Helenenquelle) are tapped for the first time.

1698

The first public facility (referred to as ‘Schuppen,’ or ‘Shed’) is constructed next to the Stadtbrunnen springs (known today as Georg-Viktor-Quelle). It stands until 1884 when it is demolished.

1706-1714

Prince Friedrich Anton Ulrich orders the construction of Castle ‘Friedrichstein’ in Upper Wildungen.

1728-1731

Construction of the church in Upper Wildungen.

1763

Erection of a monument in the church in memory of Prince Carl.

1799

The first hotel and bath house is constructed near the springs. Despite a great deal of effort, the number of spa guests declines steadily.

1816

A constitution is passed in Lower Wildungen.

1822-1824

Demolition of the Brunnen, Wegaer and Linden gates.

1841

Only 15 spa guests.

1855

Wildungen Mineral Springs Corporation is founded. The spa resort begins to prosper once again.

1869

Dr. Carl Rörig discovers the ‘Königsquelle’ springs.

1884

The opening of a railway line between Wabern and Lower Wildungen connects the town with the Main-Weser line. Guest numbers continue to increase along with economic growth.

1894

Gustav Görner, a spa guest from Zittau, discovers a natural spring in a meadow near Reinhardshausen. He buys the land and begins the ‘Reinhardsquelle’ spa resort which soon flourishes.  

1900-1940

The Princely Wildungen Mineral Springs Corporation manages the spa resort.

1906

The town of Lower Wildungen is renamed ‘Bad Wildungen.’

1909-1912

The railway line is extended from Bad Wildungen to Buhlen, Waldeck and Korbach. In 1917, the line is extended further to link Brilon-Wald in the uplands.

1914

Construction of the synagogue which is one of the largest and most beautiful in any of the small towns in Germany. It is located at Dürren Hagen and becomes as much a part of the townscape as the church, Castle Friedrichstein and the Rote Hahn.

1928/29

The new pump room is constructed at the Georg-Viktor springs.

1929

Waldeck is annexed by Prussia. Bad Wildungen comes under the control of the Prussian state.

1932

The July Reichstag elections are still free and 51.2% of Wildungen residents vote for the Nazi Party.

1933

144 Jews reside in Bad Wildungen. By 1937, 36 have emigrated or have dispersed throughout Germany.

1934

34 year-old Rudolf Sempf becomes mayor. He is the leader of the northern section of the Nazi Party, district head of the Kassel region and a party propagandist.

8.11.1938

The synagogue is destroyed and all male Jews are arrested and transported to Buchenwald via Kassel. A total of 80 Wildungen Jews manage to emigrate and the final 40 are interned in concentration camps by 1942. Just 3 of them survive the Holocaust.

1938/39

Construction of Bunker 17 for the Luftwaffe High Command, billeted in the nearby Fürstenhof.

1940

Bad Wildungen becomes the Prussian State Bath. The State of Hessen takes control after the Second World War.

1940

The neighbouring communities of Upper Wildungen, Reitzenhagen and Reinhardshausen are incorporated.

1943

The Nazi Party takes control of Castle Friedrichstein which then becomes the Nazi district headquarters.  

1945

American troops liberate Bad Wildungen from the Nazis. The Fürstenhof hotel is used by the Americans until 1958.

1971

The settlements of Albertshausen, Armsfeld, Bergfreiheit, Braunau, Frebershausen, Hüddingen, Hundsdorf, Mandern, Odershausen and Wega are incorporated as part of the administrative reform.

1976

The BKW (Bad Wildungen Transport and Water Supply Corporation) is founded.

1977

Heloponte recreation facilities open.

1979

Bypass provides relief from traffic within the town.

1980

Completion of the museum in Castle Friedrichstein.

1983

Implementation of a pedestrian zone in the Brunnenstrasse.

1984

Renovation of the Old Town begins.

1986

Partnership with Saffron Walden in England. more information

1987

Inauguration of the new spa hotel, transformation of the Brunnenallee, renovation and extension of the town hall. The ‘Kurschatten,’ (spa shadow) springs attract a lot of media attention.

 

The spa museum opens at Brunnenallee 1 with exhibitions on town and spa history.

1988

Partnership with Yichun in China. more information

1990

For the first time, a spa director is given responsibility for the two spa resorts of Bad Wildungen  and Reinhardshausen. Partnership with St. Jean de Maurienne in France more information

1992

Bad Wildungen celebrates the 750th anniversary of the town charter with 5 months of events and a vibrant festival week in September.

1994

A casino is reopened in the spa resort in the totally refurbished art-nouveau Quellenhof Hotel.

1995

Despite huge protests, the rail link between Bad Wildungen and Korbach is closed. The rail links between Bad Wildungen and Kassel-Wilhelmshöhe station are improved as an alternative.  

1996/97

Occupation of clinics declines severely as a result of the reforms in German health policy (the ‘Spa Crisis’).

1997

A business development organisation is founded in Bad Wildungen. 

1998

Inauguration of ‘Europe’s largest spa park,’ which connects Bad Wildungen and Reinhardshausen (the ‘Forest and Health’ pilot project).  

 

A vehicle licensing centre opens in Bad Wildungen.

 

The ‘living museum’ opens in the Odershausen district which exhibits village life in times gone by. 

 

The famous altarpiece is returned to the church after many years of painstaking restoration. The chapel itself is also refurbished.

1999

The government of the state of Hessen selects Bad Wildungen as the location for the 2006 State Garden Show.

2000

Germany’s highest high ropes course is installed in the spa park.
The train station is converted to become a business start-up centre whilst maintaining its original function.
The Academy for Information Technology is opened in the spa town.
The nearby village of Bergfreiheit puts itself on the map as the ‘Snow White Village.’

2002

After lengthy negotiations between the town and the government of the state of Hessen, the ‘Hessian State Bath’ is municipalised on 1.1.2002. Subsequently, the town of Bad Wildungen takes full responsibility for and runs ‘Bad Wildungen State Bath.’

2004

Bad Reinhardsquelle GmbH also comes under the control of the town of Bad Wildungen in June 2004. By the end of the year, the thermal springs are opened in Reinhardshausen after an extensive modernisation process. 

2006

In April, the 3rd Hessian State Garden Show opens its gates in Bad Wildungen. By October, more than 440,000 people have visited this unique attraction.

The ‘event of the century’ sees the enhancement and conversion of the park and meadow around the Königsquelle and the entire Bornebachtal.
The charming Königsquellen Park, Schlossquelle, Springs Tunnel, Play Meadow and the Cabinet and Golden Gardens have had an enduring and charming influence which continues to enhance and enrich the town’s tourist infrastructure.
There are many other projects with a local flavour throughout the town that are also well worth seeing.  

 

 

 


printed on  23.05.2017
© Staatsbad Bad Wildungen GmbH +49 5621 9656741